Tags

, , ,

I am not a chef by any stretch of the imagination, but my quest to live a healthier life requires that I learn to put healthy ingredients together to make wholesome meals. This was my most recent experiment, a whole wheat penne tossed with summer squash, garlic, and lemon juice.

Ingredients: 4-5 cups whole wheat penne, 3-4 summer squash, 6 tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 cup chicken broth, 4 tbsp olive oil, 1tbsp minced garlic, 1tbsp I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter

To Prepare: Boil pasta. Slice squash in quarter inch circles and toss in 3 tbsp lemon juice. In sauce pan, fry olive oil, I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, and garlic until garlic starts to brown. Add squash, then let cook for 1-2 minutes. Add chicken broth and 3 tbsp lemon juice, and cook on low heat for about 7 minutes or until squash is soft and begins to brown. Pour over pasta. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Yields about 6 servings. Approximately 305 calories per serving.

